Press Release #21

Anticipation: Press Release #21, April 21, 2009
Hugo and Campbell Voter Package Available for Download.

Works and portfolio samples from a number of individuals under consideration for the 2009 Hugo and Campbell Awards are now available at for download by those eligible to vote for the 2009 Hugo Awards, to help them inform themselves about the work under consideration before voting.

The following materials are included in the Hugo Voter Packet:

* The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury UK)
* Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (Tor Teen; HarperVoyager UK)
* Saturn’s Children by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK)
* Zoe’s Tale by John Scalzi (Tor)

* “The Erdmann Nexus” by Nancy Kress (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2008)
* “The Political Prisoner” by Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF Aug 2008)
* “True Names” by Benjamin Rosenbaum & Cory Doctorow (Fast Forward 2)
* “Truth” by Robert Reed (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2008)

* “Alastair Baffle’s Emporium of Wonders” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s Jan 2008)
* “The Gambler” by Paolo Bacigalupi ( Fast Forward 2)
* “Pride and Prometheus” by John Kessel (F&SF Jan 2008)
* “Shoggoths in Bloom” by Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s Mar 2008)

* “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss” by Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Jul 2008)
* “Article of Faith” by Mike Resnick (Baen’s Universe Oct 2008)
* “Evil Robot Monkey” by Mary Robinette Kowal ( The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Volume Two)
* “Exhalation” by Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)
* “From Babel’s Fall’n Glory We Fled” by Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s Feb 2008)

* Rhetorics of Fantasy by Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press)
* What It Is We Do When We Read Science Fiction by Paul Kincaid (Beccon Publications) (Extract only)
* Your Hate Mail Will be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998–2008 by John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)

* Schlock Mercenary: The Body Politic Story and art by Howard Tayler (The Tayler Corporation)

* METAtropolis by John Scalzi, ed. Written by: Elizabeth Bear, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell and Karl Schroeder (Audible Inc) (instructions for download)

* Clarkesworld Magazine edited by Neil Clarke, Nick Mamatas & Sean Wallace
* Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal – Year in Review
* Argentus edited by Steven H Silver
* The Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia
* Electric Velocipede edited by John Klima
* File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

and works by:

* John Picacio
* Chris Garcia
* John Hertz
* Cheryl Morgan
* Steven H Silver
* Aliette de Bodard
* David Anthony Durham
* Felix Gilman
* Tony Pi
* Gord Sellar

The works in the Hugo Voter Packet have been made available through the efforts of the authors and artists who have been nominated. Thanks are also due to their publishers, who have also graciously cooperated to make their works available. Anticipation is grateful for their participation and willingness to share with its members. Remember to vote, and please support these creators! Their work is available in bookstores and online.
The works in the Package are divided by category for easier download (in zip format) and are presented in a number of different formats, but primarily in Word Document Format (.doc), Rich Text Format (.rtf) and Adobe Reader Format (.pdf). Each format opens with software freely available on the Web. More detailed instructions are provided on the download page.
The Hugo Award, first presented in 1953, celebrates the best in the field of science fiction and fantasy. Recipients are chosen by members of the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS).

The Hugo voting process for works published or otherwise released in 2008 will be open to supporting and attending members of the 2009 Worldcon. In order to participate you must have purchased an Anticipation membership and received your pin before the voting closes.

The 67th World Science Fiction Convention, known as Anticipation, will take place in Montréal, Québec, Canada from Thursday, August 6th through Monday, August 10th, 2009.

More information about Anticipation, including current membership rates, is available on our web site (; you can also write to us for more information.
To be removed from the Anticipation press release mailing list, please write to

Anticipation The 67th World Science Fiction Convention P.O. Box 105, Station NDG Montréal, QC H4A 3P4

Guide pour découvrir la convention mondiale de science fiction

“WSFS”, “Worldcon”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Hugo Award” and “NASFiC” and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Rocket are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

Copyright 2024 All rights reserved.